Behind The Thorns!!!

Prakarsh Sahu
2 min readSep 17, 2024

--

How do you fight back when the bars are made of thorns??

Photo by Max Kleinen on Unsplash

My nose has thorns growing in them
Blocking my every breath
And instilling pain
I can't escape
Of the nightmares
I can't name.
I can't pluck them either
For I fear of bleeding
I don't like the colour red either
It haunts me of my demons
That I had killed long ago
On a battlefield that turned gray
After every drop of blood
After every pang of pain
Kissed the ground.

But now
what am I pursued by?
These shadows?
I don't recognise them
Though they wander in my head
Lurking in every corner
Talking to me in a polite tone
And this sends shivers down my spine.

They hold the rabbit inside its hat
And choking it there
For they too fear of
The magic I might unleash
If only I could pull it out.
But again
Who has the balls
To bang their head hard
Into that crimson wall
Until the echoes of their fear fade
Into a sleep that stretches beyond
the limits of time?
.
.
.
.
.
But but but
There might be a way
A tiny of a moment that could defy
The clocks of eternity
Where
The shadows would revel
While the rabbit might silently make an escape.
But that glimmer of hope
Often turns dark
For I am a proclaimed prisoner of my creation
Locked within the walls
Behind the thorn bars
I dare not touch.
But who turned them to point inward
Torturing me by my chest
And with every inhale I make
I bleed...
And for now and ever
I feel captive....

--

--