Requiem for a Soul!!!

Prakarsh Sahu
2 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Photo by Ali Saadat on Unsplash

I ain’t ready to fall behind the bars
I didn’t commit a crime
I am not a criminal.

But I killed someone
And that ‘someone’ was Me.

In the darkest hours of my soul
I grapple with the shadows of my past
They haunt me with the memories that I once created
Making me wonder if redemption will ever last.

How could you tick all the boxes right
Just by matching the attire?
Maybe our souls were different
Maybe he was born from my ashes.

I reincarnated into a monster,
A creature of darkness and despair,
With every step I took,
Every breath I drew,
I was weighed down by my choices and despair.

Darkness enticed me

Into believing
On how peace can be craved
And quenched

Both from the blades of same knife.
But when I tried to peep deeper
To look for answers
All I discovered were forgotten echoes from my past.

.

.

How??

How can you blame hope for being the sinner?
When it was always a fuel.
It was you who extinguished its flame,
Bit by bit,
With doubts and fear
Until it flickered and then turned to grey.

Holding that flickering flame,
I often ran into the wilderness
Chasing shadows in the night
Only to find darkness covering my eyes.

I stumbled upon some regrets and pain,
I barely care
Until my skin bled and
Scars made my bones sing an elegy to the air,
My silent soul screamed into that infinity,
As pain tore apart my sweet flesh.

Shadows, I could feel them all around,
Something pulling me into my past
I could hear the chants
Of sins being recited back into my ears
As they grew louder
My shattered soul
Coiled spun and got lost in the darkness around.

I was the spider who spun,
A mirage
Of doubt and despair
And then entangled myself within it
As if I were always the prey my soul desired.

I felt my strength slipping off my fingers
As I tried to hold courage tightly
Within my fist.

In my own creation,
I had now succumbed
To the shadows I once dared chase.
As I watch them encircle me
Their eyes gleam with joy
As they revel in my descent into sin.

Something or
Some part of me died that night,
Blazes sore high into the dark sky
Flames and ashes hugged tighter
And something rose from that pyre.

A monster reincarnated
With blood spilled all over its body
And with a smirk that lasted.
When all I could sense
In the wake of dusk was,
A murderer’s shadow looming again,
To haunt another soul
To feast upon another denial.

--

--